Staff & Administration

Whom to Contact

Dr. Matias Kirst
Director

Research interests include Genomics, Bioenergy, Quantitative Genetics, Technology and Genomic Tool Development, and Forestry.

mkirst@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Dr. Svetlana Folimonova
Graduate Coordinator

Research interests are Plant Pathogens-Host Interactions, Disease Management, and Citrus Greening.

svetlana@ufl.edu
Google| ResearchGate

Eliana Kampf
Program Coordinator

Responsible for overall program coordination, including recruitment, admissions, student services and administration.

elianak@ufl.edu

PMCB Faculty

Affiliated UF Faculty

Gul Shad Ali
Plant Pathology

gsali@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Plant-Microbe Interaction, Effectors, Pathology, Nanobiotechnology.

Fredy Altpeter
Agronomy

altpeter@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Genome Editing, Homologous Recombination, Crop Biotechnology and Breeding.

W. Brad Barbazuk
Biology

bbarbazuk@botany.ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Bioinformatics, Comparative and Functional Genomics, RNA Splicing.

Gilles Basset
Horticultural Sciences

gbasset@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Systems Biology, Metabolic Biochemistry, Biological Networks.

Gordon Burleigh
Biology

gburleigh@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Computational Phylogenetics.

Christine D. Chase
Horticultural Sciences

ctdc@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Organelle Genetics, Pollen Development, Programmed Cell Death.

Sixue Chen
Biology

schen@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Plant Secondary Metabolism, Proteomics.

David Clark
Environmental Horticulture

geranium@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Floriculture, Biotechnology, Plant Breeding.

Thomas Colquhoun
Environmental Horticulture

ucntcme1@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Biotechnology, Floriculture, Biochemistry

John Davis
SFRC-Forestry

jmdavis@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Functional Genomics, Disease Resistance, Tree Species

Robert J. Ferl
Horticultural Sciences

robferl@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

14-3-3's, Space Biology, Chromatin Structure.

Kevin Folta
Horticultural Sciences

kfolta@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Biotechnology, Photoperiod, Strawberry.

Dean W. Gabriel
Plant Pathology

gabriel@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Citrus Greening and Canker, Disease Resistance, Microbial Genetics

Fred Gmitter, Jr.
Hort. Sciences-Citrus Res. Ctr.

fgmitter@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Breeding and Genetics, Citrus, Genomics

Dennis Gray
Hort. Sciences-Mid FL Res. Ctr.

djg@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Biotechnology, Gene Discovery, Grape Genetics

William Gurley
Microbiology & Cell Sciences

wgurley@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Transcriptional Regulation, Heat Shock Response,

Charles Guy
Environmental Horticulture

clguy@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Temperature Stress, Cold Acclimation, Heat Shock, Metabolomics and Physiology

L. Curt Hannah
Horticultural Sciences

lchannah@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Temperature Stress, Cold Acclimation, Heat Shock, Metabolomics and Physiology

Andrew Hanson
Horticultural Sciences

adha@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Metabolic Biochemistry, Metabolic Engineering, Plant-Prokaryote Phylogenomics.

Alice Harmon
Biology

harmon@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Calcium-Dependent Protein Kinases, Cysteine Synthesis Pathway, Arabidopsis and Soybean

Bernard Hauser
Biology

bahauser@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Seed Development, Stress Physiology, Arabidopsis, Soybean.

Jeffrey B. Jones
Plant Pathology

jbjones@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Microbial Pathogenesis, Virulence, Disease Management.

Harry Klee
Horticultural Sciences

hjklee@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Flavor, Fruit Ripening, Genomics, Tomato

Karen Koch
Horticultural Sciences

kekoch@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Sugar Metabolism, Kernel Development, Functional Genomics

Donald R. McCarty
Horticultural Sciences

drm@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Functional Genomics, Seed Development, Transposon Mutagenesis

Stuart McDaniel
Biology

stuartmcdaniel@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Genetic Basis of Adaptation and Reproductive Isolation

Lauren McIntyre
Molec. Genetics & Microbiology

mcintyre@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Genetic Genomics, Complex Phenotypes

Zhonglin Mou
Microbiology & Cell Science

zhlmou@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Plant Defense, Salicylic Acid, Systemic Acquired Resistance (SAR)

Patricio Munoz
Agronomy

p.munoz@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Blueberry, Breeding and Genomics, and Quantitative Genetics.

David G. Oppenheimer
Biology

doppen@botany.ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Plant Cell Shape, Cytoskeleton, Membrane Trafficking

Anna-Lisa Paul
Horticultural Sciences

alp@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Space Biology, Transcriptomics, Chromatin Structure

Gary Peter
SFRC-Forestry

gfpeter@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Wood Development, Bioenergy, Tree Breeding.

Bala Rathinasabapathi
Horticultural Sciences

brath@ifas.ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Metabolic Adaptations to Stress, Functional Genomics of Stress Adaptations

Jeffrey Rollins
Plant Pathology

jarollins@ifas.ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Host-Pathogen Interactions, Developmental Biology, Signal Transduction

A. Mark Settles
Horticultural Sciences

email
Google | ResearchGate

Seed Development, Maize Genetics, Functional Genomics

Doug Soltis
Biology-FL Museum

dsoltis@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Angiosperm Phylogeny, Genome Doubling, Phylogeography

Pam Soltis
Biology-FL Museum

psoltis@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Plant Phylogenetics, Polyploidy, Gene Family Evolution

Wen-Yuan Song
Plant Pathology

wsong@ifas.ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Kinase, Ubiquitin, Protein-Protein Interaction,

C. Eduardo Vallejos
Horticultural Sciences

vallejos@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Genetics and Genomics, Genetics of Disease Resistance

Wilfred Vermerris
Microbiology & Cell Science

wev@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Cell Wall Development, Bioenergy, Genomics

Jianping Wang
Agronomy

wangjp@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Genomics, Molecular Breeding, Bioenergy

Retired Faculty

Kenneth Cline
Horticultural Sciences

kcline@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Chloroplast Biology, Protein Trafficking, Membrane Biogenesis.

Gloria A. Moore
Horticultural Sciences

gamoore@ufl.edu
Google | ResearchGate

Genetic Improvement, Genetic Transformation, Citrus